"Somewhere in the vaults of the bank of Cox and Co., at Charing Cross, there is a travel-worn and battered tin dispatch-box with my name, John H. Watson, M.D., painted upon the lid. It is crammed with papers, nearly all of which are records of cases to illustrate the curious problems which Mr. Sherlock Holmes has at various times to examine."

Sunday, January 22, 2017

The Complete Adventures of Solar Pons, Vol. I (2017)

The first volume of a limited two-volume set collecting the Basil Copper Solar Pons adventures. Release date is February 2017.

From the Introduction
Basil never had the pleasure of seeing all his Pons stories collected in a definitive omnibus edition. However, before his death in April 2013 at the age of 89, he and I started working on these two volumes. I also wanted to collect all his macabre fiction together and, with the help of PS Publishing, we did just that in 2010. Two years later we collaborated again to publish Basil’s Gothic novel The Curse of the Fleers in a version that the author originally intended. 
Although it saddens me that he never lived to see this handsome presentation of his entire Solar Pons Canon from the same imprint, I’m also heartened to know he was aware that we were working on it. 
It has taken forty years but here, finally, are The Complete Adventures of Solar Pons by Basil Copper. Once again prepare to be plunged into an idyllic English countryside or the chill and foggy streets of London, as that great city’s second most famous consulting detective—ably supported by the reliable Dr. Lyndon Parker—uses his “ratiocinative” powers of logical deduction to solve murders both mysterious and macabre . . . 
—Stephen Jones 
THE DOSSIER OF SOLAR PONS; Explanation by Dr. Lyndon Parker, The Adventure of the Perplexed Photographer, The Sealed Spiral Mystery, The Adventure of the Six Gold Doubloons, The Adventure of the Ipi Idol, The Adventure of Buffington Old Grange, The Adventure of the Hammer of Hate. 
THE FURTHER ADVENTURES OF SOLAR PONS; The Adventure of the Shaft of Death, The Adventure of the Baffled Baron, The Adventure of the Surrey Sadist, The Adventure of the Missing Student.
THE SECRET FILES OF SOLAR PONS; The Adventure of the Crawling Horror, The Adventure of the Anguished Actor, The Adventure of the Ignored Idols, The Adventure of the Horrified Heiress.
SOME UNCOLLECTED CASES OF SOLAR PONS; The Adventure of the Haunted Rectory, The Adventure of the Singular Sandwich, Murder at the Zoo, The Adventure of the Frightened Governess.

Title: The Complete Adventures of Solar Pons, Vol. I
Author: Basil Copper, Stephen Jones (editor)
Year: 2017
Publisher: PS Publishing
Purchase: PS Publishing

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Murder By Decree (1979)

Novelization of the 1979 film starring Christopher Plummer as Sherlock Holmes and James Mason as Dr. Watson. A good Holmes vs. Jack The Ripper tale incorporating a popular Royal conspiracy theory of the day.


He terrorized a city.
He committed acts of unspeakable horror.
He ruled the shadows and the back alley.
He was called Jack the Ripper––


He commanded boundless admiration.
He possessed ruthless intelligence.
He pursued his suspects with unfailing instincts.
He was Sherlock Holmes.

Title: Murder By Decree
Author: Robert Weverka
Year: 1979
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Purchase: Amazon.

Sunday, January 1, 2017

SHERLOCK returns

Tonight sees the return of Benedict Cumberbatch's SHERLOCK. Season 4 consists of three stories: The Six Thatchers, The Lying Detective, and The Final Problem. SHERLOCK airs in the U.S. on PBS.

Monday, December 26, 2016

Death By Gaslight (1982)

Michael Kurland's second Professor Moriarty novel. Once again the paperback sports nice cover art with a Rathbone inspired Holmes.


A killer who made Jack the Ripper seem gentle was slitting the throats of the cream of England's aristocracy. Naturally Scotland Yard launched total war against this monster, enlisting the great Sherlock Holmes himself.

Only when this ultimate weapon of the law failed to stem the blue-blodded deaths were they forced to play a last desperate card–Professor James Moriarty, the Napoleon of Crime, who had his own methods of fighting an evil that went beyond mere murder by gaslight to hell-lit depths of diabolical depravity and satanic sin....

Title: Death By Gaslight
Author: Michael Kurland
Year: 1982
Publisher: Signet
Purchase: Amazon.

Sunday, December 18, 2016

The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories, Part V: Christmas Adventures (2016)

A Christmas-themed fifth volume in the ongoing series of new Holmes stories published by MX to benefit the restoration of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Undershaw.

This is Volume V of the largest collection of new Sherlock Holmes stories ever created. “The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories - Part V: Christmas Adventures” features contributions by: Bob Byrne, Derrick Belanger, Amy Thomas, David Marcum, Denis O. Smith, C.H. Dye, Marcia Wilson, Julie McKuras, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Bert Coules, John Hall, Jim French, S.F. Bennett, Narrelle M. Harris, William Patrick Maynard, Vincent W. Wright, James Lovegrove, Arthur Hall, Nicholas Utechin, Mike Chinn, Tracy J. Revels, Roger Riccard, Wendy C. Fries, Paul D. Gilbert, Jan Edwards, Molly Carr, S. Subramanian, Peter K. Andersson, Matthew J. Elliott, Hugh Ashton, and Mark Mower, with a poem by Ashley D. Polasek and forewords by Jonathan Kellerman, Roger Johnson, Steve Emecz, Melissa Farnham, and David Marcum.

Title: The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories, Part V: Christmas Adventures
Author: David Marcum (editor)
Year: 2016
Publisher: MX Publishing
Purchase: Amazon

Saturday, December 10, 2016

Knife Edge (2014)

Andrew Lane's sixth Young Sherlock Holmes novel finds Sherlock in Ireland. Below is an early export edition that used the original series cover art. By the time of the general release, a new series look was adopted.




Something sinister is afoot in the house in the west of Ireland in which Sherlock is staying. There are frightened whisperings among the servants and the house's owners are clearly scared. But who - or what? - has terrified them so much that nobody will speak out? Young Sherlock must bring all his powers of deduction to unravelling his greatest mystery yet. 
Another fast-paced, brilliantly plotted adventure as teenage Sherlock investigates a new crime and comes up against a fresh crop of sinister, clever criminals.

Title: Young Sherlock Holmes: Knife Edge
Author: Andrew Lane
Year: 2014
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
Purchase: Amazon.co.uk.